The Hospitality department is committed to helping students to understand Hospitality firstly as a subject and secondly as an individual living in their economic and hospitality environment.


The Hospitality department is committed to developing;


  • Analytical skills

  •  Evaluation skills

  •  Numeracy and literacy skills

  •  ICT skills


The Hospitality department encourages a good environmental awareness and an ability to present logical findings, to alert students to be aware of the importance of Hospitality in their own everyday living. Students are also advised to use research skills and present their findings in a project.


Students of all abilities have the opportunity to take the subject – the range is taught from Level two to Level three Hospitality.


What is Hospitality?

BTEC in Hospitality gives you a good grounding in what to expect. BTEC holders can expect to find opportunities at a range of levels, as chefs, waiters, or bar staff; in front-of-house operations such as receptionists, cashiers or guest liaison staff; and in accommodation operations.

It’s time to inspire you. You have what it takes to make a career in the hospitality industries and BTECs in Hospitality are designed to do just that.


 Skills that would be useful during this course:

· Good ICT Skills

· Clear Communication Skills

· Strong Organisational Skills

· The ability to work independently when required

· Enjoy working as part of a team

· Ability to work under pressure

· Good research skills


Level 2


What is a BTEC First Award?


BTEC First qualifications were originally designed for use in colleges, schools and the workplace as an introductory level 2 course for learners wanting to study in the context of a vocational sector. This is still relevant today. The knowledge, understanding and skills learnt in studying a BTEC First will aid progression to further study and prepare learners to enter the workplace in due course. In the hospitality industry, typical employment opportunities may include working as a:

● bar person/manager

● chef

● cleaner

● concierge

● conference and banqueting assistant/manager

● hotel porter

● hotel receptionist

● receptionist

● waiter/waitress.


What is the course structure?


The BTEC First qualifications have core, mandatory and optional specialist units. The course is a 120 guided-learning-hour qualification (equivalent in teaching time to one GCSE).

The Pearson BTEC Level 1/Level 2 First Award in Hospitality includes one externally assessed unit in the core unit, Unit 1: Introducing the Hospitality Industry, to introduce externality into vocational programmes of study. This will assist learners as they progress either into higher levels of vocational learning, or to academic qualifications, by providing independent evidence of learning and progression alongside the portfolio-based assessment. This approach will also assist learners with developing their transferable skills in analytical writing, and in applying their knowledge in unfamiliar contexts.

The remaining units are internally assessed. Internal assessment enables learners to receive feedback on their progress throughout the course.


Level 3


What is a BTEC National Subsidiary Diploma?


A BTEC National Subsidiary Diploma is a practical, work-related course.  You learn by completing units and   assignments that are based on realistic workplace situations, activities and demands.  As well as learning about the      employment area you have chosen, you develop the skills you need to start a career.

It is equivalent to one A Level, which means when you have finished the course you can choose whether to go onto   training within a kitchen or use the qualification as a step in stone to a BTEC, HNC, HND or degree qualification.


What is the course structure?


The course is made up of a combination of units that will achieve credits.

The Pearson BTEC qualifications in this specification are QCF level 3 qualifications designed to provide highly specialist, work-related qualifications in a range of vocational sectors. They give learners the knowledge, understanding and skills that they need to prepare for employment. These   qualifications accredit the achievement for courses and programmes of study for full-time learners in schools.


What subjects will I study?


The Pearson BTEC Level 3 Subsidiary Diploma in Hospitality consists of three mandatory units plus four optional units that provide for a combined total of 360 guided learning hours (GLH) or 60 credits for the completed qualification.


Units of study are:

· The Hospitality Industry

· Principles of Supervising Customer Service Performance in Hospitality, Leisure, Travel and Tourism

· Providing Customer Service in Hospitality

· European Food

· Contemporary World Food

· Planning and Managing a Hospitality Event

· Asian Food