English Literature




Our GCSE English Language specification encourages students to explore and respond, both imaginatively and critically, to a variety of texts. Students use reading to improve their writing skills. They also enhance their understanding of how language variations relate to identity and cultural diversity.

The specification has four units:

  • Unit 1: Writing for Purpose and Audience and Reading to Access Non-Fiction and Media Texts

  • Unit 2: Speaking and Listening

  • Unit 3: Studying Spoken and Written Language

  • Unit 4: Personal or Creative Writing and Reading Literary and Non-Fiction Texts.


The specification will give students the opportunity to study not only a wide range of literature written by home-grown Irish writers but also literature from outside the UK and literature in translation.


Through independent and critical reading, students will develop their interest and enjoyment in literary studies and become accomplished, discerning readers.

The GCE English Literature specification is made up of two parts: AS and A2. Students may take the AS as a ‘stand-alone’ qualification without progression to A2. However, to gain the full GCE, students need to complete both the AS and the A2 courses.

The AS 1, AS 2, A2 1 and A2 2 units are as follows:

AS 1: The Study of Drama - Internal Assessment

AS 2: The Study of Poetry Written after 1800 and The Study of Prose 1800 - 1945

A2 1: The Study of Poetry – 1300-1800 and Drama

A2 2: The Study of Prose – theme based